What I Offer...

Care.

To me, pets are family. I’ve grown up owning different animals my whole life, and it’s something I truly value. There’s never been a time in my life where I haven’t been around animals and I don’t want that to change any time soon. Every animal I’ve had the pleasure of sitting has become a friend, and it’s truly a privilege to build those relationships.

Transparency.

Leaving your pets can be a stressful experience for both you and your pets; I understand that and I make it my goal to make the process as painless as possible for all parties. Not only do I want it to be painless for the pets, I also want it to be painless for you. I do this by communicating with complete transparency. I can send you photos of your pets as much as you like, so you can rest assured that they’re having a great a time.

 

Confidence.

I make it my top priority to ensure that you are confident in my abilities to care for your animals and your home. I have great reviews from every house-sit I’ve taken so far, and I can even provide a reference upon request. I don’t smoke or drink, and I’m extremely tidy; my previous reviews are a testament to that.

Flexibility.

I can provide short-term or long-term care for your home and animals depending on your needs. I am happy to come early and meet you and your pets as much as needed for everyone to be happy and comfortable with the arrangement, myself included. I can arrive before or after you’ve already left, and stay until you arrive home or leave just before; it’s completely up to you and your animal’s unique circumstances.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why should you pay for house-sitting?

Pet boarding facilities in Perth typically charge around $20 to $30 per pet/per day. This is for your pet/s to be thrusted from their usual routines and the comfort of their own spaces. The attention and care paid to your pet/s can range from sub-0ptimal to adequate. And there can be a higher risk of your pet/s contracting different diseases due to the close proximity of other animals.

When you hire me to house-sit, I make sure I learn the routines your pet/s are used to; I can walk and feed them at the same times you normally do, take the same routes on walks, let them in and out of the house at their regular times and give them lots of attention throughout the day. All of these can be lost when leaving your pet/s at a pet boarding facilitiy.

On top of the benefits of keeping your pet/s in their homes, you also get the benefit of someone staying in your home.

This means I can take out your bins, bring in the mail, water your indoors plants and garden and help deter potential theft.

How does my pricing work?

I love helping both animals and people. But because I still need to be able to support myself, I have to charge to be able to do that.

I’ve decided the best way for me to offer my house-sitting is to use a pay-what-you-want model. This means that I’ve worked out the minimum I can charge for my services to still sustain myself, and then you are free to pay more on top of that if you choose.

I worked out that the minimum I can live off per day is $14.97, so this is what I charge for house-sitting.

Dog-Walking and Doggy-Daycare are provided at a standard hourly/half-hourly rate. Providing these additional services at a standard rate allows me to supplement my house-sitting and keep that rate even lower.

If you’re still unsure, check out my handy price estimator just above this FAQ 🙂

Why should you trust me?

I’ve been house-sitting for over 2 years. In that time I’ve had 11 different clients (3 I’ve done multiple sits for), all with great reviews. I’ve looked after 18 dogs, 7 cats, a bunch of chickens, fish and a pink and grey galah. I’ve had sits as short as 1 night and as long as 3 weeks.

I was inexperienced when I started but quickly learnt from experience. On my very first sit I had to think quick after locking myself out and then also had to deal with a burst tap. Since having those experiences I have learnt what questions to ask to ensure that I’m ready for any potential scenario, and I’ve not had any similarly unexpected incidents since.

I quit drinking at the end of 2018 and haven’t had a drop of alcohol since; I have never smoked; I’m a generally tidy person and I’ve even done some paid cleaning work for past clients.

For more information on what I value, you can check out my personal site: tomrenk.com/now for a list of what I currently spend my time doing and not doing.

What is RunKeeper?

RunKeeper is a running app that uses GPS to track your location on walks or runs.

When I use the app I can track the walk I go on with your dog and then send you a screenshot. You will receive information such as the distance, time, where we went, etc.